top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDoreen Calkins

When I Moved to New York City

Updated: Apr 15, 2018


















Honesty is the best policy! We all know this saying, that's why everything I write in my article is true and real. If you read my 1st article about how my journey started, I talked about my husband who brought me to America. Now I want to tell you just a little bit of my not so good past, he was my ex-husband. Yes, I said ex-husband because we got divorced after a few months of being together, we all know that married life is not always like a fairy tale.


My then husband and I did not get along really well, after a few months of our marriage we both realized that we had a lot of differences, but there was no big fight though, we talked about it calmly and we mutually agreed to just file a divorce and move forward. Well, I don't want to go into details about the separation, for me past is past. He was a nice guy though, he did not hurt me physically or anything. We got divorced in 2008. In 2011 he got re-married, and then in 2013, I found out through his sister a very sad news that he already passed away due to liver failure at the age of 37.


Enough of that sadness! Life is really unpredictable. Okay, back to the topic. Let me continue my story about moving to New York City after the divorce. In 2007 I moved to NYC from MA. I have cousins in New York and when they heard about what happened to my marriage, they asked me to just move to NY, and that's what I did. Luckily, after a few days of my stay there I found a job with a Law Firm as an assistant secretary, telephone operator, and a messenger all at the same time and that lasted for 5 months, after that I found a new job at La Guardia Airport as a Customer Service Representative, I stayed there for two years, until I found my current husband.












Yes, I found my current husband while I was in NY and he's from Wisconsin. We had met online. Oh, before I continue, let me share with you a little trivia about my stay at LaGuardia Airport. I was actually there when the incident occurred when the U.S. Airways plane with 155 people on board ditched into a chilly Hudson River. I was on duty that time


and I witnessed all the chaos and panicking people on that horrible day. I and my co-workers were all over the place to assist people inside the airport. We were glad that everyone survived, kudos to the Pilot and Copilot. What an unforgettable experience!

















Honestly, leaving New York was a bittersweet moment for me and having to quit my job at the airport after two years of my stay was a struggle, because I already fell in love with my work, I've already made a lot of friends at the airport and I have learned a lot from the people there, and from all of my experiences, it actually gave me self-confidence, helped me overcome my shyness and taught me how to deal with different kinds of people from all over the world, and different situations as well.


I knew I would miss my good friends, as well as my work and most especially the state of New York. I truly fell in love with this city, that was the best city I have ever seen. I really had all these wonderful memories and unforgettable moments, as well as experiences in NY, I would miss it so badly. Nevertheless, I had to quit my job because I needed to move to Wisconsin to be with my then future husband. I moved to WI in the year 2009 and we got married in the year 2010.





My husband now is a lot older than me, I guess it's better than younger, I was 2 years older than my first husband. My current husband and I are getting along really well. We've been married for 8 years now plus 1 year of being together before marriage, but we never had any kids, but that's fine with us though, maybe we are not destined to have kids, but it doesn't matter anymore so long as we are still together.


Without having kids have never been a problem with me and my husband, if that is our destiny, then we will accept it with all of our hearts, everything happens for a reason!. However, I feel like we are still blessed because we never had any problem about parenting, we have the freedom to do whatever we want to do and we have all the time to travel anywhere we want to go without worrying about the kid's welfare. Maybe that's the reason why?! I don't know for sure! Only God knows!


I always travel with my husband and I love traveling with him, just the two of us, my husband is my favorite travel buddy. Although once in a while I also travel with my mother and aunt, I choose to book a travel package from the travel agency whenever I'm with my mom, she is 72 years old and I thought that it's always a better option to book a travel package when you're with senior citizens, for you don't need to worry about your itinerary, transportation, and accommodation for them.




With my husband, we always opt for DIY rather than a travel agency because with the agency the time and destinations are very limited. My husband and I love to travel, we share the same passion and interests in life. When we travel we don't usually have an itinerary, we just go with the flow, we go wherever our feet take us. What we normally do is just ask Google for our next destination for that particular day, and the direction how to get there. For us, it's a lot easier to search on Google than to have an itinerary, and we also look for the postcards from the stores sometimes and from there, we decide where to go next. The tourist brochures in the hotel could help a lot as well, just ask the hotel concierge how to get to the location. We actually like it impromptu!


I'm lucky that my hubby and I have a lot of things in common. Moreover, we both love photography and we enjoy the same TV shows and watch movies together, we are both not into sports, that's the reason why we get along very well, we never fight, a little misunderstanding maybe but that's normal for any couple. Another reason why I love to travel with him is that he got a great sense of direction, in short, he is my GPS, as we all know men have a better sense of direction than women, so I always follow the leader. But just so you know, I am the one who sets the GPS for the next destination hah!


I haven't been to Europe, but it's on my bucket list, that's one of the destinations I've always wanted to visit. I'd really love to travel to any part of Europe, that's one of my dreams, hopefully someday soon I will be able to achieve that. I know I will, I can, and I'm claiming it! We just need to save more to be able to afford and enjoy our vacation. I still have plenty of space in my storage to save all of my future trips, so I'm looking forward to collecting more photos and memories. Keeping my fingers cross!


My husband and I are working for travel, we don't travel for work. We make it a point that we go somewhere together at least once or twice a year, depending on the budget though. I don't know why, but I feel like..life is not complete without adventure, without seeing new places and without new experiences. I feel so alive whenever I travel and see the beauty of our world. I would rather collect more memories than to collect material stuff. Because in the end, that's all you have - happy memories!













15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page