top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDoreen Calkins

My Solo Trip to Niagara Falls

Updated: Mar 26, 2018



In August 2007, when I was still working at La Guardia Airport in New York, I thought about taking a few days off and give myself a break from our busy schedule at work, I felt like I need some time to unwind, to feel free and enjoy my life for a few days. I took a solo trip to the famous and magically beautiful Niagara Falls. I traveled all the way to Buffalo, New York.


I've heard a lot about this waterfall many times before, I had a friend who went to Niagara Falls and he told me how beautiful it was. To see this wonder of nature was just a wishful thinking on my part, but dreams do come true, if we only wish hard enough, you have to believe in your dreams to make them a reality. I never thought that someday I'll be able to see one of the legendary waterfalls in the world, which is located in between the two countries, the United States and Canada.


However, when I arrived at the Buffalo airport if I remember correctly, people said I still need to take the bus to get to the Greyhound station and transfer to another bus going to Niagara Falls, that would take two more hours to get there. I thought it would be easy once you arrive at the airport, but I was wrong. Hence, I took a short walk outside the airport to look for the bus terminal, and there were two young employees in uniform conversing outside while sitting in the golf cart, so I asked them how I can get to the bus station that would take me to Niagara Falls.




These two gentlemen seemed concerned and honest to me, fortunately, they offered me their golf cart that would take me to the site, fast and easy, they know a shortcut where I could at least enter the area, instead of taking a long two hour trip by the bus. They said, I just need to walk a little bit more to get to the Niagara Falls site, at first I was hesitant but they were being nice and friendly, so I accepted the offer, and besides, riding a golf cart is fun nonetheless! We arrived at the location in just 15 minutes, I got off the golf cart at their stopping point, because they were not allowed to enter the site. They just showed me the pathway how to get inside.



And to my surprise, these two nice guys wouldn't allow me to pay for my golf cart ride, they wanted to offer their service for free, but I still gave them at least a few dollars. It was so nice of them! I was so thankful for their generosity and kindness, they were truly heaven sent, and because of that I asked them a little favor if I could at least have a photo with them as a remembrance and appreciation and the sign of our very short friendship, and they both willingly accepted my request.


I just got lucky that moment, as I came across these two gentlemen, aside from they made my life easier, additionally, I was able to see the hidden gems...the streaming water that sparkled like a bed of diamonds under the golden sun, situated at the back of the Niagara Falls where you can take the road less traveled.


Niagara Falls, New York



I finally reached the Terrapin Point. And the moment I saw the Niagara Falls, it seemed like I entered a paradise, I was totally in awe! Seeing the waterfalls up close for the first time in my life. This time, I was no longer watching a television nor reading the magazine, it was all for real! I couldn't believe what I was seeing that moment, it was so unbelievably beautiful! I wanted to run closer to the falls right away, I was staring at the water for a few minutes without blinking an eye. So surreal! I was so excited! I even remember asking some strangers to take photos of me, since I didn't have a tripod or a selfie stick that time.






I would come closer to the waterfalls to watch the tour boats, then I saw a rainbow above the river, and I captured that magical moment. I could even feel the mist on my skin. While watching on the edge of the waterfalls I would look towards the other direction and on the other side of the river, I could see Canada from a distance as I was standing in America, how cool was that?




I have always been intrigued by the beauty of the Niagara Falls ever since I have seen it on TV or the internet. So when I finally got there I was like, I'm actually here! I'm watching it live! I was only a few meters away and I could literally touch the water. I wanted to shout for joy. I was standing on the edge of the Terrapin Point and gazing at the waterfalls, appreciating the phenomenal views in front of me. What a wonderful world we live in!


You could also try the Niagara Falls boat tour. You can choose between the two nation's tour, whichever you preferred, the Maid of the Mist tour in Niagara Falls, New York or the Voyage to the Falls Boat Tour in Niagara Falls, Ontario. They also have an evening boat tour.




There are plenty of hotels nearby but they are overpriced, so I recommend to find a hostel instead, you can stay at the Gorge View Hostel or Niagara Backpacker’s Hostel, or you can find one from Airbnb ahead of time, before you plan your trip. Besides, staying in a costly hotel will prevent you from meeting like-minded travelers.


Some people stay in Buffalo, New York or Toronto, Ontario, to save money, but you really should stay in Niagara Falls area to ensure that the maximum amount of time can be spent exploring the area on foot, instead of commuting the freeway.


I also tried the trolley ride. From a distance, I saw this Niagara Scenic Trolley passing through the State Park and there were people sitting on the bench, waiting for the trolley to stop. Cool! That was interesting! I could see the whole Terrapin Point by just riding the trolley, So, I decided to take a ride, why not? But, I don't remember how much I paid for that trolley ride, $2 maybe? I'm not sure though, and then he gave me a ticket bracelet after. When the trolley stopped at the station I just hopped on and explored the area, then hopped off to the last stop. That was fun!



One of the best experiences is walking across the Rainbow Bridge from one country to the other. At the center of the bridge, there is a sign to let you know where you can stand so you can be in two nations at once! It also has one of the best views of all three waterfalls. Just be prepared for the Immigration check at the end of the Rainbow Bridge if you want to pass through the other nation.


Hence, after a few hours of exploring the American side, I decided to cross the rainbow bridge to get to the Canadian side. However, I got this silly story about my Immigration check for Canada, but it wasn't that big a deal, it was actually my fault. I just want to share my crazy story. No, there's no pot of gold at the end of the rainbow bridge, but there is an Immigration office to pass through the Canadian border.


Anyways, the Immigration officer asked for my ID, so I handed him my passport and my New York state ID because I thought the state ID is enough evidence of my Immigrant status in the U.S. but the IO asked for my Canada visa, I said I don't have it but I'm a U.S. Immigrant. Therefore, the officer did not allow me to enter Canada, he wanted me to get a visa. I was so nervous that time, I really need to go to Canada side because I already booked my hotel there.


I went back to the rainbow bridge, I didn't know what to do. I paused for a while, standing on the bridge facing the waterfalls, the view was so beautiful, but I was disappointed and baffled. I wanted to cry because I know how hard it is to apply for a visa and it will take time. So, I decided to call my roommate in NY since she was the one who told me that I don't need a visa, just show my ID. I told her what happened, then she asked me what ID I presented to the IO, I said my state ID and passport, she told me I was supposed to show my U.S. green card as an evidence that I'm a U.S. Immigrant. Ooh yeah! Why didn't I think about that? My bad! Because the moment he asked me about the visa I was taken aback.


Okay, I was relieved. I went back to the Immigration officer with confidence and a smile on my face and handed him my U.S. green card, and he said...that's the one I was looking for! I smiled at him and said sorry I forgot to show it. I wanted to tell him, you scared me! Why didn't you ask for my green card in the first place? He only asked for my visa that's why I got so nervous and confused, I thought I really need it. I always brought my GC with me, it's just that I pulled out the wrong ID. It was my fault! But I was able to pass the border nonetheless. Charge to experience!


Niagara Falls, Canada



Thank God! I finally got to step on the soil of another country in just a few minutes, in spite of the mishap along the way. I was no longer in the U.S. I was already in Canada, it's that easy! All I did is to cross the bridge and I'm already there. Oh, how I wish every country is just like this, all you need to do is to cross the bridge and you're already in another country. Can it be all so simple? So that the life would not be so complicated.




While I was in Canada I took advantage of that opportunity to practice my talent in photography, I took a lot of photos of this phenomenal waterfalls, from every corner, in every angle, I took multiple shots. Aside from traveling, I also have this crazy passion for photography! That was the perfect time for me to exercise my photography skills while enjoying the view at the same time. I was overwhelmed with joy at that moment for I was able to do the two of my true passions in life...traveling and photography.



The Niagara Falls International Rainbow Bridge, commonly known as the Rainbow Bridge, is an arch bridge across the Niagara River gorge and is a world-famous tourist site. It connects the cities of Niagara Falls New York, United States (east), and Niagara Falls Ontario, Canada (west).









31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page