top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDoreen Calkins

My Unforgettable Memories of Hawaii

Updated: Apr 15, 2018



In January 2009, my husband and I were talking about going on a cruise, we wanted to experience the Caribbean or Mediterranean Cruise for at least 9-12 days. I've been dreaming of going on a cruise at least once in my lifetime. I have already experienced riding the boat before, like a sailboat, a motorboat and a ferry boat, I haven't experienced a huge cruise ship that takes you to different parts of the world, a luxurious "love boat" that looks like the Titanic. That would be awesome!


One morning I remember my husband searching for cruise line on Google and we were both excited to try it for the very first time as a new couple, but unfortunately he couldn't find a cruise ship tour package that would fit within our budget, everything was way too expensive. So, because of that, we both agreed to postpone our dream journey by the sea.


We shifted our plans to just visit the Islands of Hawaii instead, we all know that Hawaii is a tropical island surrounded by beautiful beaches, forests, and mountains. It was still a big WOW for me, knowing that Hawaii is one of the lovely destinations that anyone would ever dream of. I was looking forward to witnessing the beauty of this island. The more I got too excited when my husband told me that he already booked the flight.


As time went by, as excited as I was to experience this wonderful trip to Hawaii, I would start packing our stuff little by little for our very first journey together, until the anticipated time has finally come. We flew to the state of Hawaii, with the feeling of great enthusiasm and eagerness. Never in my wildest dreams that someday I would be able to see the place that I thought I could only see on TV and the magazines and that would never happen in real life, only in my dreams. But dreams do come true! If something is bound to happen, it will happen!




We landed at Honolulu International Airport, and on our way to the rent a car counter we were greeted by the airport staff with the fresh purple lei flowers in their hands and gently placed them on our neck with aloha and sweet smile. We smiled back at them and said thank you! That was the sweetest greetings that we have ever received, I felt so special that day. I did not take that lei off my neck until we arrived at the hotel.




It's funny because we totally enjoyed those beautiful purple leis on our 1st day in Hawaii, to the point that we would wear them even in our hotel room and all the way to Pearl Harbor and we would take photos with these lovely fresh garlands, couldn't get enough of them, maybe because it looks very Hawaii and no one even cared if we were roaming all over the place with these beauties on our neck, we're in Hawaii anyway! We took them off after taking some photos. It was nice to have it as a remembrance of our trip to Hawaii. We totally had fun!


Here's the transportation to and from Pearl Harbor


Pearl Harbor








Another unforgettable experienced in Pearl Harbor. Considering that this place is historical and was the scene of a devastating surprise attack by Japanese forces on December 7, 1941, that triggered the entry of the United States into World War II. Many times I got goosebumps whenever I thought about the war that occurred during that era, that also reminded me of the movie Pearl Harbor starring Ben Affleck that I used to watch a couple of times.



Goosebumps when I thought about how many people died and got injured during those days, in that very place, on the ground where we were standing. It was a surreal experience indeed!



I honestly felt awful and disheartened sometimes when I see those weapons, tanks, machines that once utilized in the war. But I felt honored and proud in a way that I was able to see, experience, and witness these gigantic and massive battleships, submarine, aircraft, and the battle cannons, as well as the wreckage of the second world war...the most widespread and deadliest war in history.








We even had a tour of the battleship and it felt like I was there during those times of hardship. We saw some tiny narrow beds that connected to the walls where the troops used to sleep.


The canteen where they used to eat, the tiny holes and doors where they used to pass through, not to mention the fact that most American troops were tall and big.






To be honest with you, that moment, I could feel their presence. I felt like they were there watching us. I actually had this eerie feeling inside me.


I can only imagine what these fearless, valiant and courageous men went through back in the days. We must honor those brave soldiers and war veterans who sacrificed their lives on the battlefront. They were the true heroes!




















Dole Plantation


There is a lot to see in Oahu, HI. You could visit a Dole Plantation in Kamehameha Hwy, Wahiawa, Hawaii as well, they have plenty of shops inside where you can buy some Dole products, and you could also book a Dole Plantation tour. Dole Plantation provides enjoyable activities for the entire family, including the Pineapple Express Train Tour, the Plantation Garden Tour, and the Pineapple Garden Maze.



Actually, we went there by accident, we did not plan to visit this place, it's just that we saw the sign on the road on our way back to Honolulu from our trip to Pearl Harbor. Since we were already in that place, might as well visit the plantation, besides, we both love pineapples. So I was thrilled when we were heading that way. I'm glad we stopped by, because it was really worth a visit!




Hear the history of James Dole and learn how the fruit is grown on the Pineapple Express Train Tour. Then, lose yourself on the grounds, intriguing with gardens, the world’s largest maze and that Dole whip ice cream you keep hearing about.


24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page